Untitled I

September 1, 2010 § 4 Comments


They live on my lamp

It’s kind of funny.  I want to take pictures but I have nothing to take pictures of, so everyday items end up becoming the focus of my relatively shitty photography.

My mom bought me these butterflies when I was a teenager who didn’t know what she wanted.  While  I was living at home, they lived on random pictures and posters in my room.  When I moved out, I couldn’t bear to get rid of them, so now they live on my nice Ikea lamp which provides the room with a much nicer, more mellow light than the ceiling light does.  And now the very faded purple butterfly is home to the orange ribbon my friends and I all wore at our friend Amber’s funeral two years ago and the “Amber’s Angels” bracelet I bought at her bowling fundraiser this year.

It’s rather appropriate, if you think about it.

I know it’s cliche, but butterflies represent the whole afterlife aspect, providing you believe in pretty much any religion that says there’s life after death.  And as cliche as it may be, I like it.  So I latch onto it.

There’s so much I want to say, but I don’t know how or even where to begin…

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Untitled I

  • Mindless Rambler says:

    I can relate to the photography thing, I find myself snapping anything these days, really I need to get out and about but motivation has left me. Nice butterflies and nice idea on the lamp”

    • Worst part is, I have motivation, but I haven’t gone out and done it. Lol. I really want to get down to Detroit again, but have only been there on work. Granted, it’s, what, 20 minutes away? But I need a dedicated period of time that I can go down and take pictures. I’m thinking maybe this Sunday…

  • iowamrs70 says:

    Keep writing. There is something about writing that is so cleansing. I go for weeks and nobody reads what I wrote. I think the most I had in one day was 13 hits LOL. For me it might be the content. But here I am reading yours because you replied on my forum post. I wouldn’t have even known you were out here. 🙂

    • It definitely is cleansing. It feels like I get everything out of my system so I can relax because it’s not all floating around in my head any more. It probably sounds kinda weird, but it works. Haha.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Untitled I at Just Another Blog..

meta

